Nigeria Invites 23 For Qualifiers

Cup holders; Nigeria have called up 23
players, including ace goalkeeper Vincent
Enyeama, for next month’s 2015 Africa
Cup of Nations qualifying matches against
the Red Devils of Congo and South
Africa’s Bafana Bafana.

The list released by the Nigeria Football
Federation on Tuesday also included
defenders; Kenneth Omeruo and Efe
Ambrose, midfielders; Ogenyi Onazi and
John Mike Obi, and forwards; Ahmed
Musa and Emmanuel Emenike.
France -based Elderson Echiejile, who
missed the 2014 FIFA World Cup as a
result of injury, Nosa Igiebor who missed
the final cut for Brazil and Chinedu Obasi
who was not considered for the
tournament, are all back for September’s
double -header.

Onazi, the midfield powerhouse who
suffered a terrible injury in the Round of
16 defeat by France, is now fully
recovered, but Michael Babatunde, who
was stretchered out against Argentina
after a hand injury, is left out.
Home -based quartet; Chigozie Agbim,
Azubuike Egwuekwe, Kunle Odunlami and
Gbolahan Salami who were part of
Nigeria’s third place finish at the African
Nations Championship in Cape Town
earlier in the year, were also invited.
They are joined by Enugu Rangers’
marksman Christian Osaguona as the lot
from the domestic League.
Nigeria play Congo’s Red Devils – restored
to the race after conquerors Rwanda
were found guilty of using an ineligible
player – in Calabar on September 6,
before flying to Cape Town to take on the
Bafana Bafana on September 10.


Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille
OSC, France); Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er
Sheva, Israel); Chigozie Agbim (Gombe
United, Nigeria)

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (Monaco
FC, France); Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC,
Israel); Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland);
Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor FC, Turkey);
Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves,
Nigeria); Kenneth Omeruo
(Middlesbrough FC, England); Kunle
Odunlami (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria)

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC,
England); Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy);
Ramon Azeez (Almeria FC, Spain); Joel Obi
(Inter Milan, Italy); Nosa Igiebor (Real
Betis, Spain); Omatsone Aluko (Hull City,

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow,
Russia); Emmanuel Emenike (Fenerbahce
FC, Turkey); Chinedu Obasi (Schalke 04,
Germany); Uche Nwofor (Heerenveen FC,
Netherlands); Nnamdi Oduamadi (AS
Varese 1910, Italy); Gbolahan Salami
(Warri Wolves); Christian Osaguona
(Enugu Rangers).

Daily Trust.

Follow us on

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s