The Last Man Standing

I always come last!

All my life, I always dey carry last. From teenage years till adulthood. Many times I wonder how I got to be the first born in my family because the trait of the 12th chosen abounds in me.

I remember my first day in NYSC camp, majestically strolling to the tent to pick my kits, only to be told my camp number ends with Zero (0). As such, I have to be in platoon 10. I resisted. I disagreed. I fought. (Well, guess I only battled myself because the stern looking soldiers would have had me for lunch). Platoon 10. Mother of all platoons.”Iyalaya!!!” Confidently, we were coming last in all the competitions. Dancing, breakdance, name it. Before long, ten over ten (10/10) became an anthem in the camp. Naeto C became our brand ambassador. Wait on it! That’s another story for another day.

I digress.

Flying High...

Flying High…

My location is currently locked in 13.0364° N, 8.3178° E. That’s Daura. The President’s hometown. The spiritual home of the Hausa people. Well, that’s the cool gist I was told. The room I lay my head in Kongolam is five (5) minutes’ walk to Niger Republic. I’ve once had a meal in Nigeria and drank water in Niger Republic. Daura is just seven (7) hours from Abuja. The city hosting the wedding of the year. And again, as usual, I’m carrying last.

Kongolam - Border Post

Kongolam – Border Post

I had early wrote about this union. Inked about the engagement of Bonnymaid and Ayomaid. Which you can still read Here. That write-up had won me the African Journalist of the Year Award (Dream on). I had plans. Bought my White Brocade. Tailored my Agbada. Complete Yoruba Demon Apparel. But I won’t be attending. As much as I hate coming up with excuses, this one seems inevitable. I’m so sorry.

Yoruba Demon

Yoruba Demon Apparel

Muyiwa will make a great husband. Well, he’s been a good lad. It’s been ten (10) years I came across this gig mind. It’s been a decade of awesomeness. Omobolanle, elegant, poise and easygoing. Wife material, 100 yards. Formidable union where God will be the bedrock. I wish you both nothing but joy, happiness and the blessings of marriage. I would have love to drop some marital advice but what do I know? A single, not eligible man like me. Nonetheless, make Jehovah the third man in the relationship and things will go on well. Right?

Nothing I write will make up for not attending. I was to have a part in the reception program. It’s that bad. But patronizing the couple should give me a soft landing, yeah? I hope so. For those who made it to the wedding, be kind enough to share the fun with me. Let me know what I missed. I’ll be gentle on myself while crying.

Olumuyiwa and Omobolanle

Olumuyiwa and Omobolanle

Happy Married Life Olumuyiwa and Omobolanle Ogundare.

 

12 thoughts on “The Last Man Standing

    1. it was actually an event dt typing can’t really express. from their entrance to d last event,it was just like a love movie that is always smooth. their story of love was narrated n it really caught everyone’s attention. they Neva talking to themselves in a loving n emotional way,they just made everyone in attendance speechless with their love. Better witnessed than been told.

      Like

  1. Happy married life to the man n also nice work in putting those words together asat at least he’d read it and (maybe not) be the last person to forgive you.. ..p. S we share the lateness thingy togeda lol.. ..#bless

    Like

  2. Tolu…if I were your friend, this marks the end of our friendship though # it is not by writing me a prose # tongue out.
    Nice write up, Mr Last Man…same way you forgot your laptop in the plane @ Enugu.

    Like

  3. Finally made it to this post! (Call me the last lady standing) Tolu o, we weren’t always last on camp na, at least we won Miss NYSC (or was it Mrs?), came third in traditional dance (after a platoon didn’t show up for the “rematch”) and First in noise making! Nice post by the way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

