I’ll Forever miss you Deborah Chika

Once upon a time, on a bright sunny day, I set out for my summer coaching centre. That year was ’05. I was preparing for my GCE. Usual bants from the boys were flowing around. Then something caught my attention, a young pretty lady with a bible. That isn’t unusual. But she’s with the New World Translation. I struck up a conversation.

Fast forward to ’08, our path crossed again. This time, series of conversations had passed and a friendship had ensued. By’ 09, we became school mates and the friendship got stronger.

You see, I’d always thought about life from the leftist perspective. This young woman groomed me. I had two mothers in school, Aunty Bolanle abandoned me after she graduated, the other stuck with me even with my faults. She taught me life. She taught me strength. She taught me courage in the face of adversity.

She taught me how to love a woman.

I have so much to say but words are deserting me at this point. Memories are flooding my head I can’t seem to stick with one. My eyes tarry as I write this. My mind wanders into the unknown.

We’re born, and then we gone. Nobody lives forever. It’s alright and then it’s not. Freedom is a kind of prison.

I can see the future, I have a dream. I see people free from the pain within. I see God’s kingdom.

From the highway of life, I see reflections from a distance, see them walking on the water. The closer I get, the faster it fades away. The mirage of life. Everything you thought you knew today, fades away.

Every memories we share stays with me. I wish I could document them. I wish I could record all and keep it save for references. Can’t believe I’m writing this.

Once upon a time, I made you promise not to ever die before me. I said I wasn’t going to forgive you if you did….

Valential Arabella Rain.

Chattel.

Princess.

Last born.

Mummy’s handbag.

Olúwa Chika.
Chika with the “CH” and not “SH”.

Never stopped loving you. No I never did.

Thanks for living a worthy life in Jah’s service.

Thanks for gracing us with your presence on this earth.

You’ve given us another reason to look forward to when He’ll call, and all those sleeping in death will answer. 

My thoughts are with your husband and children, your mum and dad, your siblings and all those you genuinely cared for.

Keep on resting Deborah Abike Chika.

See you soon Ukachukwu Gold.

Your friend,

Tolulope.

One thought on “I’ll Forever miss you Deborah Chika

Leave a Reply

